Ouachita Baptist University Ouachita Baptist University

Databases
Annals of American History
Annual Reviews
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
BioText Search Engine
Bowker's Books In Print
Britannica Online
EBSCO Host
FirstSearch
Gale Discovering Collection
Grolier Online
In the First Person
Making of America
Marquis Who's Who
Net Library
Philosopher's Index
ProQuest Newspapers
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Value Line
Webster's 3rd Int'l Dictionary
World Data Analyst


Contact Us
Ms. Lindsay Van Sicklen
870.245.5117
e-mail

Databases

Access to most library databases requires either an on-campus or a remote connection to the OBU network. See http://support.obu.edu/vpn.htm to set up a remote connection.


Annals of American History - original words of more than 1,500 authors who made and analyzed American history through speeches, writings, memoirs, poems, and interviews.

Annual Reviews - critical reviews of primary research in the biomedical, physical, and social sciences. OBU's subscription provides access to the Annual Reviews of Biochemistry, Immunology, Medicine, Neuroscience, Psychology, and Sociology.

Arkansas Democrat-Gazette - Arkansas' largest newspaper. Searching the archives of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette is free, but there is a charge to view an entire story.

Biotext Search Engine - scientific literature search tool that retrieves free full-text articles from PubMed Central. Developed as part of the BioText Project at the University of California, Berkeley.

Bowker's Books in Print - patron version of the publishing industry's most comprehensive bibliographic database of book, audio book, and video titles.

Britannica Online - academic version of one of the world's leading general encyclopedias.

EBSCO Host - access to a wide range of periodical literature and reference work databases. Detailed descriptions of each database are available on the EBSCOhost web site.

First Search - index to the following book and periodicals databases: ArticlesFirst, ECO, ERIC, GPO, Medline, PapersFirst, Proceedings, UnionLists, WorldAlmanac, and WorldCat.

Gale Discovering Collection (required password: diamonds) - biographies, critical analyses, essays, timelines, and multimedia elements from the following core subject areas: biography, history, literature, science, and social studies. Detailed descriptions of each database are available on the Gale Discovering web site.

Grolier Online - online version of the following encyclopedias as well as dictionaries, thesauri, and a world atlas:
 • Encyclopedia Americana
 • Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
 • Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre en Linea

In the First Person - index to letters, diaries, oral histories, and other personal narratives within scholarly materials that are freely available on the WWW.

Making of America - Cornell University's digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction. Includes a searchable, full-text version of the Official Records of the War of the Rebellion.

Marquis Who's Who - biographical database that chronicles the lives and accomplishments of millions of leaders and historical figures across disciplines. When finished using this database, click the log off button in the upper right corner of the Marquis Who's Who page.

Net Library - e-books in the public domain as well as select titles published since 2005 in the areas of business, careers, and health.

Philosopher's Index - extensive bibliographic database of abstracts covering scholarly research in philosophy since 1940.

Proquest Newspapers - recent issues of the Christian Science Monitor, the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, the New York Times Magazine, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.  Select the "publications" tab to see coverage dates.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy - over 2,000 original articles from over 1,300 leading international experts across the discipline of philosophy. The articles cover a wide range of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.

Value Line - timely information on stocks, mutual funds, special situations, options and convertibles, including The Value Line Investment Survey, the most widely used independent investment service in the world.

Webster's Third International Dictionary - unabridged version of one of the world's leading dictionaries.

World Data Analyst - current and historical statistics on over 200 countries of the world. Allows subscribers to create tables, charts, and export the information to a spreadsheet for data analysis.